Sunday, July 22, 2012

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Before I Wake by Rachel Vincent

Before I Wake (Soul Screamers, #6)
Title: Before I Wake
Author:  Rachel Vincent
Narrator:  Amanda Ronconi
Series:  Soul Screamers (#6)
Length:   10 hrs, 24 min
Publisher:  Harlequin Teen
Date Published:  June 26, 2012
Format:  Audiobook
Source:  Bought
Buy It:  Amazon / B&N / Audible

I died on a Thursday-killed by a monster intent on stealing my soul. The good news? He didn't get it. The bad news? Turns out not even death will get you out of high school.  Covering up her own murder was one thing, but faking life is much harder than Kaylee Cavanaugh expected. After weeks spent "recovering," she's back in school, fighting to stay visible to the human world, struggling to fit in with her friends and planning time alone with her new reaper boyfriend. But to earn her keep in the human world, Kaylee must reclaim stolen souls, and when her first assignment brings her face-to-face with an old foe, she knows the game has changed. Her immortal status won't keep her safe. And this time Kaylee isn't just gambling with her own life.

**Review Contains Spoilers for Previous Books!**

Fave Romantic Quote:
“You're not lost, Kaylee. You can't ever be lost, because I'll always know where you are. And if I'm not there with you, I'm on my way, and nothing standing between us will be standing for very long.”

Fave Funny Quote:
“Why? Why is this happening to me?" Sophie asked.  Sabine rolled her eyes. "Because you're the beautiful fairy princess and the evil Lord of Hell can't secure his kingdom until he's feasted from your flesh and slaked his thirst with tea brewed from the ashes of your incinerated bones."  Nash groaned, and Tod laughed out loud.  Sophie hiccuped, and turned to me, frowning. "Is she serious?”

Fans of the Soul Screamers series, we have once again been rewarded by the awesomeness that is Rachel Vincent!  This was absolutely the best yet in this series.  We're introduced to a new Kaylee in Before I Wake.  She is struggling to come to grips with her new status as "walking dead girl", and it isn't as easy as she thought.  Nothing seems to matter anymore, except for Tod, the only thing in her undead life that make sense.  She doesn't want to eat, she can't relate to her friends and family, and she's struggling to stay corporeal in class.  As if that's not enough to deal with, being dead isn't stopping Avari from trying to steal her soul.  This time he has new tricks up his sleeve.  If he can't get to her soul he'll just torment her and feed from her misery.

Before I Wake is filled with the action we've come to expect with Rachel's Soul Screamers series.  The people that Kaylee loves are once again in danger and it's up to her to protect them.  Nash and Sabine are still angry, and Kaylee wants to repair the relationship.  Sophie finally knows the truth about her family, and she's even dating a necromancer, Luca.  Her character is much more enjoyable than in the past books, although she's still a prissy, spoiled brat.  And then there's ever swoon-worthy, Tod.  At the beginning of this series I was totally and completely rooting for Nash to get his act together so that he and Kaylee could work things out, but it didn't take much persuasion from Tod for me to change my mind.  Tod is perfect for Kaylee.  Every time Kaylee has a moment of dispair Tod is there to support her.  His love for her is so consuming.  I love his sarcastic wit, but his romantic side has the ability to take my breath away.   This is a wonderful addition to the Soul Screamers series.  With All My Soul (Book #7) is going to be the series finale, and it is sure to be bittersweet. 

Amanda Ronconi narrates all of the books in the Soul Screamers series, and she does an amazing job.  I love it when a female can narrate male characters well and Amanda definitely does.  Her storytelling is flawless.  I highly recommend all of this series in audio.

5 Stars * * * * *

Blog Design by Imagination Designs